Reflections on the Second Year

Last year, I wrote a very similar blog looking back on the first year or my son’s lives, which you can find here.  It’s a great way for me to look back and see how much has changed and how far we have come.  One thing that’s different, straight off the bat… We are getting sleep! 

This time, two years ago, we had just scheduled a C-Section in 5 days time for 34 weeks and 4 days due to preeclampsia.  I remember feeling scared and excited because we had a date.  There had been a few issues; liver function, super high blood pressure and restricted growth of twin two.  It was at the point where they decided it was time to blow the whistle.  Get em out.  

That night, my waters broke.  It’s like my sons knew I now had a plan and of course they turned it upside down.  Nothing so far had gone by the book even before conception so why would this be the start?  When I hit the ‘call’ button, the nurse simply mopped the floor and put me to bed, like I’d just spilt my drink.  I didn’t sleep at all that night, and when I called my husband he was firstly surprise I hadn’t told him the night before and then it sunk in: ‘you’re going to be a Dad today.’

4pm that afternoon, a whole 15 hours after I lost my waters there you were. 

I can’t believe you guys are two.  The past year has been a journey and a half of parenting and love and joy.  Watching you grow and discover the world around you and working out you can make people laugh and make me cry.  The nights are definitely longer and the days are shorter and they go by so quickly, which causes a dull ache in my heart.

We didn’t know what love was, until we had you.  I didn’t know who I was until I had you.  This amazing journey has just begun, and even though I try to teach you things, it’s actually you two that are teaching me.  Every damn day.  I look at you every morning and wonder what I did to get so lucky and how the hell will I fumble through parenting today.

It’s been perfection… Every part of it, even the hard bits.  I wouldn’t change a thing.  One thing I will say that hasn’t improved of course is that you still don’t eat food really.  I’m cool with that now.  Weetbix and bread can actually be eaten for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  Plus the dogs are well fed.

Thankyou for giving me two years of parenting joy.  Happy birthday my sons.
  

Leave a Reply

